Saturday Shoutout!!! Two Frogs: The Power of Words

Saturday Shoutout!!! Two Frogs: The Power of Words

Issue 3 | Number 5 | 24 November 2012

On Thursday morning I flew from Brisbane to Sydney to attend an interview with Transport for NSW. It was an epic journey rising at 3am to catch the 5am Sydney flight, with the interview at 9am.

On my return flight that morning, I decided to catch up on reading from various HR journals.  In particular was the ‘Proteus Life Magazine‘ which  is always an interesting read.  I stumbled across a small column called “Two Frogs: The Power of Words” – the story is about two frogs travelling through the woods.

As I read through the short story I could see where it related to my current career journey.  In mid December I am exiting my current employer with a redundancy package.  Career prospects in Queensland are very limited going into the Christmas/New Year Break and will be continue into 2013.

I am not content to be labelled as one of those unworthy 14,000 public servants so I started looking outside the Queensland job market across Australia.  I still have a good 10 years until retirement and I believe I can share and contribute immensely to the HR professional and continue be a thought leader/maven in leading conversations on critcal issues affecting the profession.  Out of the blue, I started receiving negative comments from people who were content with the norm and were not wishing to go outside their comfort zone looking for future employment.

I see this as another “speed bump” in my career but I have learnt from my personal experience never to knock back an opportunity as I have come out the other end, even better as a person and a professional.  Which frog are you?  Read on  …

A group of frogs were travelling through the woods, and two of them feel into a deep hole.  When the other frogs saw how deep the hole wa s they told the the other two frogs  that they were as good as dead.

The two frogs ignored the comments and tried to jump up out of the pit with all their might.  The other frogs keep telling them to stop, that they were as good as dead.  Finally, one of the frogs took heed to what the other frogs  were saying and gave up. He fell down and died.

The other frog continued to jump as hard as he could.  Once again, the crowd of frogs yelled at him to stop the pain and just die.  He jumped even harder and finally made it out.  When he got out, the the frogs said, “Did you not hear us?”  The frog explained to them that he was deaf.  He thought they were encouraging him the whole time.

There is power in the tongue.  An encouraging word to someone who is down can lift them up and help them make it through the day.  On the contrary, a destructive word to someone who is down can be what it takes to kill them.  Be careful what you say – especially to yourself.

Photo Credits: Desktop Wallpaper

Next week’s blog – Tonkin Employee Engagement Conference Report 

If you find these updates useful, feel free to forward on to a work colleague or friend.

About the Author

To fulfil his professional and personal career aspirations, Tony Wiggins created ‘The HR Architect’ brand in 2009.  With a well-grounded focus and passion for HR, he thrives on working across his networks as a thought leader in ‘making a difference’ in the HR arena.

Tony Wiggins is the Founder and UX Editor of Saturday Shoutout!!!and The HR Architect Spends 5 Minutes with ….Tony utilises the blog ‘The HR Architect’ as a social media network and platform that empowers HR professionals to network, assist and support one another, spanning different countries, subcultures and niches.

Contact Tony at basketa@optusnet.com.au or @tonywiggin on Twitter.

3 Responses

  1. Gr8 stuff Wiggles… you go !!!

  2. Hi Tony. I don’t normally leave comments but just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading the Saturday Shootout. I’m sure there are lots of others doing the same. All the best for life after the Government. No doubt something really great will come along for you in 2013. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

