• The HR Architect Tony Wiggins

  • Contact Details

    PO Box 551
    Everton Park Queensland, Australia 4053

    M: 0401458 573
    E: thehrarchitect@optusnet.com.au

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,416 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 8,121 hits
  • Follow me @ Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Saturday Shoutout!!! The Moment of Truth

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH: Logo.©2007 FOX BROADCASTING

Saturday Shoutout!!!  The Moment of Truth

Issue 4 | Number 8 | 1 June 2013

It is now June 2013 and back in July 2012 I was making serious career decisions.

With the imminent rationalisation of another 20,000+ public servants, I had 2 options.  Option 1 was to stay for another 8 years until retirement and see my career further decay and be not valued for the expertise I had.  Option 2, if offered, accept the retrenchment package as an amazing opportunity, find another job in HR and pursue my future ambition to establish my brand as The HR Architect.  I decided on Option 2!!

Referring back to Fabienne Fredrickson article on Four Ways to Break Through Your Fear and Self Doubt which I wrote about in July 2012, Fabienne suggested four steps to break though that fear, self-doubt and move on.

1. Take a No-Excuses Approach

To achieve my future success, I have transitioned out of a 4 month job search which did my ‘head in’, self esteem and self confidence.  I have started my own HR consultancy business with the support a great business coach Joe Tigani from Absolute Leadership.  I wish to be one of those successful people within the Queensland HR arena and I am taking a ‘No Excuses Approach’.

2. Feel the Fear – But Do It Anyway

All entrepreneurs from my reading, experience fear at some time. What separates those who are successful and those who allow fear to hold them back is the willingness to act in spite of the fear. The best way I have found to get over the fear is to walk directly into it. It takes courage but you know what? Walking into fear is never as bad as you think it’s going to be. I have found it liberating. It is taking a while longer than expected but I am still progressing.

3. Be Willing to Stretch Beyond Your Comfort Zone

Most people avoid discomfort like the plague. If you want to get to the next level of your career/business, you’ve got to be comfortable being uncomfortable – just for a short time. Yes, it was a little scary at first but let’s face it, it’s not going to kill you.  I am willing to trade short term discomfort for long-term success and to have a go.  You just have to convince others around you that you can do it. I am willing to stretch beyond my comfort zone.  I’ve got great news – I am in a better mindset and opportunities are showing up.

4. Take Decisive Action

I have taken this action. Action is an issue of personal responsibility. I acknowledge that I am solely responsible for the choices in my life and I accept that I cannot blame others in 5-10 years time. Time and time again our inner self-doubt makes us question everything and keeps us from taking action when the solution shows up. I am not into self-sabotage.  I have had great support from peers like Sonia McDonald,  Louise Perram-Fisk and Mark Harris

Once I made the decision to succeed, it was time to commit to doing whatever it takes to make it happen.  For me, it came down to taking bold and decisive action toward what I want in my business or your life.  It’s about saying YES to what’s possible is for me.  Saying YES to these future opportunities are divinely presented to me following those actions. I promise you that.

In 12 Months Time

When I look back in June 2104 at what I have achieved, I have glad I took this course of action.  My business, my life, my income (still growing) will have never been the same. I promise you that. Take the challenge!!

Photo Credit: Innovation_blog_actv

If you find these updates useful, feel free to forward on to a work colleague or friend.

About the Author

To fulfil his professional and personal career aspirations, Tony Wiggins created ‘The HR Architect’ brand in 2009.  With a well-grounded focus and passion for HR, he thrives on working across his networks as a thought leader in ‘making a difference’ in the HR arena.

Tony Wiggins is the Founder and UX Editor of Saturday Shoutout!!! and The HR Architect Spends 5 Minutes with ….Tony utilises the blog ‘The HR Architect’ as a social media network and platform that empowers HR professionals to network, assist and support one another, spanning different countries, subcultures and niches.

Contact Tony at basketa@optusnet.com.au or @tonywiggin on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

